Skilled Migration to Australia from Bangladesh

Australia General Skilled Migration (Visa Subclass 189, 190, and 491)

Australia is in search of skilled professionals who can contribute to the Australian economy and development. Therefore, the Australian Department of Home Affairs has come up with the visa subclass 189, 190, and 491 which help skilled people from Bangladesh and across the globe to migrate to Australia with their families.

Skilled Migration to Australia in 2022

Legato Immigration and Visa Consultants (LIVC) specializes in three types of General Skilled Migration Visa Subclasses for Bangladeshi Skilled Professionals:

  • Skilled Independent Subclass 189 Visa
  • Skilled Nominated Subclass 190 Visa
  • Skilled Regional Sponsored Subclass 491 Visa

Skilled Independent visa (subclass 189) from Bangladesh

The Subclass 189 Skilled Independent Visa allows skilled people from Bangladesh and foreign countries to migrate to Australia with Permanent Residency (PR).

With this visa, you can

  • Be in or outside Australia at the time of the application
  • Work anywhere in Australia
  • Sponsor eligible relatives
  • Apply for Australian Citizenship
  • Avail Medicare facilities
  • Free education for kids

Basic requirements for Visa Subclass 189 – Skilled Independent Visa:

Subclass 190 Skilled Nominated Visa from Bangladesh

The Skilled Nominated 190 Visa is a points-based visa for skilled professionals who are invited by a specific Australian State or Territory Government.

With this visa, you can

  • Stay in Australia as PR
  • Work and study in Australia
  • Avail Medicare facilities
  • Free education for kids

Basic requirements for 190 Skilled Independent Visa

The Government of South Australia has recently added many occupations to their occupation list. General occupations, Engineering, and IT occupations are open to apply now. 

Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 491)

Australia Skilled Migration 491 visa

This Visa option is very popular among Bangladeshi Skilled Professionals seeking to enter Australia and live permanently. This is basically a 5 years’ visa which will eventually turn into permanent residency. This new 491 visa is a replacement of the well-known 489 Visa which was closed in November 2019.

With this visa, you can

  • live, work and study in Australia for up to five years
  • include immediate family
  • study in Australia
  • pathway to Permanent Residency

Basic requirements for 491 (Provisional) Visa

  • be under 45 years
  • be nominated to apply by a state or territory government agency or sponsored by an eligible relative
  • have an occupation on an appropriate Skilled Occupation List
  • have a valid Skills Assessment Outcome
  • Must have at least competent English
  • Score 65 points. – Click Here to calculate your points
  • meet the health and character requirements

Process steps of Australia Skilled Migration Visa – Subclass 189, 190, or 491

The Skilled Migration Visa to Australia can be understood by following steps:

Step 1: Pass the Skilled Migration Point Test – Click Here to calculate your points

Step 2: Determine your ANZSCO (Australian and New Zealand Standard Classification of Occupations)

Step 3: Get Skills Assessment from Relevant Assessment Authorities 

Step 4: Submit EOI

Step 5: Get your Nomination and Apply to the Australian States if required

Step 6: Apply for your Australian visa application for (Visa Subclass 189, 190, or 491) through ImmiAccount

Step 7: Wait for your Visa Grant Notification!

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

ANZSCO is the short form of Australian and New Zealand Standard Classification of Occupations. Each Australian skilled occupation has got a unique code. The ANZSCO provides information on the occupational skill level, qualifications, and/or experience needed to work in occupations.

If you have job experience, higher academic qualification, IELTS, and if your age is below 45, you might be eligible for Australia Visa Subclass 189, 190, or 491. If you are a business owner and would like to settle down in Australia and start a business, go for Visa Subclass 188.

Unlike visa subclass 189 and 190, the 491 will give you a 5 years’ provisional visa. You need to stay in the regional areas in an Australian state or territory.

CDR is the short form of Competency Demonstration Report. If you are applying as an Engineer, you must submit at least 3 CDR reports.

The application fee for 189, 190, and 491 is AUD$4,115 (Main Applicant)

Visa subclass 189 will allow you to live anywhere in Australia with PR, and 190 will allow you to stay in a particular state or territory for a specific time. Both 189 and 190 offer permanent residency (PR).


At Legato Immigration and Visa Consultants (LIVC), we have a well-trained and experienced team of consultants who will be there to give you the right information and help you to migrate to Australia from Bangladesh without hassle.

You can visit our Banani, Dhaka Office to discuss your eligibility or apply for a Free Assessment HERE

Quick Message