Settle in Australia through General Skilled Migration Visa

Immiex image
Skilled Migration to Australia from Bangladesh

What is General Skilled Migration

General Skilled Migration (GSM) is a points tested migration program for skilled individuals or families looking to permanently settle in Australia. If you’re planning to migrate to Australia with your family, then this is the most popular migration program you can think about. The Australia Government launched this program to attract skilled individuals to come to Australia and contribute to the Australian economy.

Who can apply

Engineers, Computer and IT professionals, software engineers, lecturers, auditors, accountants, marketing professionals, doctors, human resource professionals, social workers, agricultural professionals, and 100+ other types of professionals can move to Australia with Australian permanent residency. If you’re a business owner, you should learn about business migration to Australia.

See the list of occupations high in demand for skilled migration visa to Australia.

What are the requirements

Any individual who meets the following requirements can apply for Australian Skilled Migration Visa

  1. Age: Maximum 44
  2. Education: Must have at least a Bachelor’s Degree
  3. Job Experience: At least 3 years
  4. IELTS/PTE: Competent level
  5. Skills Assessment: Pass the skills assessment in an appropriate occupation on the occupations list (MLTSSL);
  6. Submit EOI and be invited to apply for the visa

What are the visa categories within GSM

Visa subclasses within the Australia Skilled Migration (GSM) program are points-tested and are either independent, state/territory-sponsored, or even family-sponsored visas. To apply for skilled migration visa, you must be invited for one of the following visa subclasses:

  1. Skilled Independent (Subclass 189)
  2. Skilled Nominated (Subclass 190)
  3. Skilled Work Regional (Subclass 491)

Skilled Independent Visa (Subclass 189)

Australia’s skilled independent visa (subclass 189) allows skilled professionals to live and work in Australia as permanent residents (PR). Unlike a work permit visa or temporary residence visa, subclass 189 is a permanent residence visa.Visa subclass 189 could be the fastest way to settle in Australia because there is no requirement for state nomination. All you need to do is get a positive skills assessment outcome, submit an Expression of Interest (EOI), and get invited to apply for a visa.

Benefits of Visa Subclass 189

  • Live and work anywhere in Australia;
  • Sponsor eligible relatives for an Australia visa
  • Apply for an Australian Passport and enjoy visa-free travel to CanadaUSAUKSchengen countries, and more!
  • Avail Medicare facilities;
  • Free education for kids.

Requirements for visa subclass 189

In order to qualify for the skilled visa subclass 189 visa, you would need to:

  • Submit an EOI and be invited to apply;
  • Meet the pass mark in the skilled migration points test (currently 65);
  • Be aged between 18 and 44 inclusive;
  • Pass the skills assessment in an appropriate occupation on the occupations list (MLTSSL);
  • Score 6 or higher in the IELTS test in each of the four test components or an equivalent score in PTE/TOEFL,
  • Meet health and character requirements.

Note: For visa 189, your occupation must be in the Medium and Long-term Strategic Skills List (MLTSSL).

Skilled Nominated Visa (Subclass 190)

The Skilled Nominated 190 Visa is a points-based visa for skilled professionals who are invited by a specific Australian State or Territory Government. Visa 190 is similar to Canada immigration.

Benefits of visa subclass 190

  • Live and work in Australia as a permanent resident (PR)
  • Work and study in Australia
  • Avail Australia’s Medicare facilities
  • Free education for kids
  • Get extra points from state sponsorship

Requirements for visa subclass 190

In order to qualify for a skilled visa subclass 190 visa, you would need to:

  • Submit an EOI and be invited to apply
  • Be nominated by an Australian State or Territory Government
  • Pass the skilled migration points test – currently 65.
  • Be aged between 18 and 44 inclusive
  • Pass skills assessment in an occupation on the State/Territory Nominated Occupations List
  • Score 6 or higher in the IELTS test in each of the four test components or an equivalent score in PTE/TOEFL
  • Meet health and character requirements

Australia Skilled Migration (Regional) Subclass 491

The Australian visa subclass 491 will allow you to move to regional areas of Australia. You’ll first get a five-year provisional visa. You can apply for permanent residency (PR) once you fulfill PR requirements in Australia. Unlike subclass 482 temporary work permit visa, subclass 491 is the pathway to Australian PR. The subclass 491 visa replaces the 489 Visa in November 2019.

Benefits of skilled visa subclass 491 

  • Live, work, and study in Australia for up to five years
  • Include immediate family
  • Study in Australia
  • Apply for Permanent Residency

Requirements for visa subclass 491

In order to qualify for skilled migration to Australia under the subclass 491, you would need to:

  • Be aged between 18 and 44 inclusive
  • Have competent English or higher, and their dependent adult family members have at least Functional English (4.5 in IELTS or equivalent in other tests)
  • Get a positive skill assessment for skilled migration to Australia in an occupation on the relevant Skilled occupation list
    • For family-sponsored applicants, the occupation (ANZSCO) is required to be on the Medium-Long Term Skills Shortage List (MLTSSL)
    • For state/territory nominated applicants, the occupation (ANZSCO) is required to be on the MLTSSL, the short-term skilled occupation list (STSOL), the regional occupation list (ROL), and a state/territory occupations list.
  • Pass the skilled migration to Australia’s points test – currently 65.
  • Submit an Expression of Interest (EOI), and be invited to apply
  • Be nominated by a state or territory government, or receive sponsorship from an eligible family member living in Australia
  • Meet health and character requirements

How to apply for skilled migration to Australia

  • Step 1: Pass the Australia skilled immigration point test
  • Step 2: Get your skills assessment done
  • Step 3: Submit EOI
  • Step 4: Get your nomination
  • Step 5: Visa apply
  • Step 6: Wait for visa grant notification!

The visa application fee is currently AUD4,115. But this is not the total fee. You need to pay for Skills Assessment Fee and state application fee.

We'll assist you with the PR application only. You'll need to apply for the Job once you receive. your immi grant decision.

Providing guarantee is a serious crime in global immigration law. Offering a guarantee in immigration matters means an act of fraudulent activity or scam.

The full form of ANZSCO is Australian and New Zealand Standard Classification of Occupations. Before you proceed for Australian visa apply, you must select appropriate ANZSCO which matches with you.

The minimum IELTS score requirement is 6 in each band which is the competent level of IELTS. If you score more like 7 in each band, your point will increase.